Skip to content

Three Packers to All-Pros Candidacies: NFL Announced the Rosters Today

The NFL released its Pro Bowl lineups today, with a fan vote, player vote, and coach vote each accounting for one-third. The Green Bay Packers officially punched in quarterback Aaron Rodgers, receiver Davante Adams, and defensive tackle Kenny Clark for the game in Las Vegas during an NFL Network special.

Three Packers to All-Pros Candidacies
Image Credit: Yahoo Sports!

The Pro Bowl vote is the best indicator of the outcome of the Most Valuable Player competition. Rodgers, the MVP betting favorite, beat over Tampa Bay’s Tom Brady, who had the second-best odds. Rodgers is making his ninth Pro Bowl appearance. He now has more Pro Bowls than former quarterback Brett Favre and former guard Forrest Gregg combined.

Adams, like Rodgers, started in the Pro Bowl. Adams has been selected to the Pro Bowl in each of the previous five seasons, ranking eighth all-time. Despite being placed on the reserve/Covid-19 list last week, Clark was chosen to his second Pro Bowl.

If you think this list is short for an 11-3 club with Super Bowl potential, you are definitely a Packers supporter. Green Bay had seven Pro Bowlers last season, but four of them, cornerback Jaire Alexander, left tackle David Bakhtiari, tackle/guard Elgton Jenkins, and outside linebacker Za’Darius Smith, have been sidelined due to major injuries. Aaron Jones, a running back, was an alternate this year.

In new positions for the Packers, punter Corey Bojorquez, cornerback Rasul Douglas, and outside linebacker Rashan Gary all excelled. The Rams got Bojorquez in September. Douglas joined the Cardinals’ active roster in Week 4. When Smith went on injured reserve with a back injury in Week 2, Gary became the full-time starter.

The greatest omission is inside linebacker De’Vondre Campbell, who many expected to receive First-Team All-Pro accolades for his 2021 season. Campbell has 125 tackles in three games after joining the team in the summer. Defensive Player of the Month for October, Campbell.

After a year off due to Covid-19, the Pro Bowl will return on February 6th, 2022 at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas. ESPN, ABC, and Disney XD will carry the game.

The Associated Press has named three Green Bay Packers All-Pros for the 2021 regular season. Aaron Rodgers was selected the passer of 2021 by 34 of 50 voters, while wideout Davante Adams was one of five players named unanimously to the First Team. The voters surprised many by electing inside linebacker De’Vondre Campbell to the First Team All-Pro.

The same 50 voters choose the Most Valuable Player, a contest between Rodgers and Tom Brady of Tampa Bay. The First-Team All-Pro quarterback battle, in which Rodgers defeated Brady 34-16, should mirror the MVP vote.

Rodgers’ fourth First-Franchise All-Pro season ties him with former safety LeRoy Butler for the team record in the post-merger period. Adam’s second First-Team All-Pro season, following his franchise-record-breaking season, puts him second only behind Sterling Sharpe in the post-merger period.

Inside linebacker Campbell garnered more All-Pro votes (18) than Seattle’s Bobby Wagner (7), who was nominated to the NFC Pro Bowl squad. Campbell wasn’t even an alternate for the Pro Bowl, like Aaron Jones, Rasul Douglas, and Corey Bojorquez. For those who believed Campbell was rejected by the Pro Bowl vote, rejoice.

Jones, Douglas, and Bojorquez did not garner an All-Pro vote, but defensive lineman Kenny Clark did. Only one NFC interior defensive lineman (Rams’ Aaron Donald, unanimous) made the All-Pro team, although four AFC linemen did.

Two people didn’t vote for long snappers, while one didn’t vote for a special teams ace.

Also Read: How to Watch Pro Bowl Game Online Free?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *